WCAG Accessibility Standards
For eLearning Content

eWorks WCAG Accessibility Standards one male smiling next to computer

What are WCAG Accessibility Standards?

Online learning is ideally designed to reach all learners, regardless of hardware, software, language, location, or ability. When learning meets this goal, it is accessible to people with a diverse range of hearing, movement, sight, and cognitive ability.

The Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) are the internationally accepted guidelines for making web content (such as online learning) more accessible to people with disabilities.

Accessibility addresses all disabilities that can affect access to online content, such as:

  • Auditory
  • Cognitive
  • Neurological
  • Physical
  • Speech
  • Visual

Accessibility also benefits people without disabilities such as:

  • People using mobile phones, smart watches, smart TVs, and other devices with small screens, different input modes, etc.
  • Older people with changing abilities due to ageing
  • People with “temporary disabilities” such as a broken arm or lost glasses
  • People with “situational limitations” such as in bright sunlight or in an environment where they cannot listen to audio
  • People using a slow Internet connection, or who have limited or expensive bandwidth

WCAG outlines four categories for their guidelines to improving accessibility:


  • Provide text alternatives for non-text content.
  • Provide captions and other alternatives for multimedia.
  • Create content that can be presented in different ways, including by assistive technologies, without losing meaning.
  • Make it easier for users to see and hear content.


  • Make all functionality available from a keyboard.
  • Give users enough time to read and use content.
  • Do not use content that causes seizures or physical reactions.
  • Help users navigate and find content.
  • Make it easier to use inputs other than keyboard.


  • Make text readable and understandable.
  • Make content appear and operate in predictable ways.
  • Help users avoid and correct mistakes.


  • Maximise compatibility with current and future user tools.

Barrier-free learning doesn't limit participation and therefore supports engagement which is fundamental to memory and learning. It also creates a connection between the learner and learning, removes unnecessary barriers such as time, complexity, and steps for learners.

WCAG outlines various levels of accessibility standards. The lowest level is the baseline standard across all eWorks content projects. At higher levels the WCAG standard can be quite strenuous to reach, can place limitations on the way content is presented and will add additional expense due to the additional content that needs to be generated in support of the standard. These factors are important to consider when choosing a level to pursue.

Want to find out how eWorks can deliver accessible content for your learners?

Contact us today and speak with our team who can work with you to help with your accessibility requirements.